Banbridge Criterium 2018, Friday 6th July: Event Details

Banbridge CC are pleased to once again promote the Banbridge Criterium for 2018 on Friday 6th July. Following the success of the event in previous years, including 2016 when it hosted the Irish National Championships, the club have confirmed that the event will use the same popular 1km circuit, starting and finishing on Banbridge town’s main high street – Newry St – to bring the fast paced action of crit racing to the town centre where it belongs.

Also confirmed are the inclusion of two support youth races catering for the Under 16 and Under 14 categories. The youth races will be supported by the David McCall FoundationManeely Mc Cann  Accountants and Rodgers Stoves Rathfriland who are kindly providing prizes for these events.

The main feature senior race will cater for A1, A2 & A3 categories.

Pre entry to the event will open on Wednesday 27th June via the Cycling Ireland website. The senior race will be limited to 60 riders with pre-entry closing on Wednesday 4th July, or once all places have been bought. Entries to the youth races will be accepted on the night. Entry to the senior race will be £15 with youth entries priced at £5.

Always a very popular event, early entry is advised for all senior riders. A budget has been reserved to accommodate prizes for the first 6 riders overall with hot spot prime laps and unplaced rider prizes also available for A2’s & Juniors.

While at first glance the circuit may look flat and relatively straight forward, a sharp descent, fast and tight corners, and a drag onto the start/finishing straight that will sap the legs has proven to provide both competitors and spectators some exciting racing over the years.

Racing for the youth will kick off at 18:45 with the under 14’s facing a 20 minute race, and the under 16’s will follow at 19:15 and will race for approx. 30 minutes.  The main senior feature race will start at 20:00, with the race being started officially by Lord Mayor of Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon, Councillor Julie Flaherty.  The feature race will last for approx. 50 minutes, featuring 2 x prime laps.

Sign on for all races will open at 17:45 in the Downshire Arms Hotel, closing 15 mins sharp before each race.

2018 Banbridge CC Tour de France Sweep: Tickets now available!

Banbridge CC are once again holding a Tour de France sweep stake for 2018.  The sweep has always proved very popular with tickets selling out very quickly so a quick purchase is advised to avoid missing out on a winning rider!

Tickets are now available from a number of club officials - further details of which can be advised by Neil Teggart.

One ticket will be sold representing each of the rider numbers as entered in the race.

Tickets will be priced at £10 each.

Prize list;

1st Overall   £150

2nd Overall  £100

3rd Overall   £50

Points winner £50

Mountains winner £50

Stage winner  £20 (x20)*

Random prize £10 (x20), 105th place on each stage*

*please note no prizes will be awarded on stage 3, the Team Time Trial.

Overall prize fund £1000

All prizes will be paid upon the completion of the race.

2018 Noel Teggart Memorial: Event Info & Pre-registration details

Banbridge CC once again host the Noel Teggart Memorial road races for 2018, taking place on Sunday 17th June.   Always a busy day for the promoting club, there will be a total of 6 races promoted including 3 races for the youth categories and 3 senior races.  Racing will take place on the traditional circuit, starting in Banbridge and making its way out to the village of Gilford and through Scarva before the long drag back to Banbridge for a finish on the Scarva Rd .

Earning a reputation in recent years as one of the highest paying events in the country this trend is set to continue with the promoters setting aside a generous prize pot of £1,800, which includes a winner’s cash prize of £300 for the A1/A2 race.

2017 Winner, Marc Heaney  of Asfra Racing.  Photo courtesy of the Belgian Project

Last year’s winner of this race, Marc Heaney riding for Belgian outfit Asfra Racing, has gone on to become one of the most promising under 23 riders in the country and recently secured his first UCI categorised victory overseas in Albania.  Other recent winners include multiple Irish National Champion Mark Dowling and 2018 Rás Tailteann stage winner Sean McKenna who both added their name to the winner’s trophy alongside numerous famous Irish cycling names; Tommy Evans, David McCann & Phillip Cassidy among them.

Contenders for this year’s event are likely to include local riders Lindsay Watson of Powerhouse Sport and John Buller of Banbridge CC who have both shown fantastic form against high quality international competition in recent weeks, and will want to impress on home roads.  Darnell Moore and the Caldwell Cycles Team have also impressed most weekends and if the Viner Caremark Pactimo team send their usual contingent led by the in-form Matteo Cigala & Ronan McLaughlin they will likely be at the top of the bookies favourites list.

Of the 6 races being promoted on the day, the A1/A2 race will be the first to roll out from the Banbridge Academy School at midday to face 7 laps of the circuit to give them a total race distance of 130km. Prizes will be on offer for the first 8 riders across the line and the first 3  A2 category riders.

A dedicated A3 race always provides fierce competition with local man Simon Curry delighted to be get the upper hand on the Powerhouse Sport  junior riders in a hard fought bunch sprint at last year’s event. This year they will once again cover 6 laps of the circuit, giving them a race distance of 110km.  Prizes will be awarded to the top 6 riders in this race.

The A4 race will face 5 laps to give a total race distance of 92km, and will also accommodate A3 & A4 women, many of who have been showing their male counterparts that they are more than up to providing healthy competition, and with the National Championships only weeks away will be keen to cause the A4 men an upset.  Prizes will be awarded to the top 6 riders and the highest placed women.

A full suite of youth races will also be on offer, accommodating our under 16, 14 & 12 riders.  The under 16 event will complete 3 laps for a total race distance of 55km. The under 14’s will complete 1 lap covering 17km, while the under 12’s will be neutralised to their official race start at the Banville House Hotel roundabout where they will race to Scarva village, a total race distance of 9.5km.  Prizes will be awarded to the top 3 boys and top 3 girls in each youth race.

In a slight change from previous years the Event HQ will be based at Banbridge Rugby Club, just off the Newry Rd.  Full changing and shower facilities will be available.

Event pre-registration will be available for all races via Cycling Ireland from 7pm on Monday 4th June until 11pm on Thursday 14th June at a cost of £15 for senior riders, £10 for juniors & £5 for youth riders.  Riders are still required to sign-on on the day at the event HQ where they should have their race licences available for presentation – this facility will be open from 10am until 11:30am before all races roll out together at 11:45am.

You can access the event pre-registration on the Cycling Ireland Azolve system here:

The roll out will be neutralised, through Banbridge town, to the race start area at the Banbridge Academy School where riders will be held and released in their respective races for the official race starts commencing at 12 noon.